Sunday, January 20, 2013

2013 Information

ASM 2013 Intermountain Branch Meeting

DATE/TIME: March 9, 2013; Registration and Poster setup will begin at 7:45 am
Plenary 9 am, Posters 10-11:30, Oral 11:30-12:30, Lunch/Awards/Business 12:30-2 pm

LOCATION: Idaho State University, Pond Student Union Building, Third Floor
Continuing Education Unit contact hours information will be available at registration.

DUE DATE: March 1, 2013 for Registration and Abstract (Form on Page 2)
Please complete registration/abstract form on page 2 and email to:
Conference registration and payment information should be sent to Dr. Weber for receipt by March 1 to assure lunch availability.

ENCLOSED: Page 1—Announcement, Page 2—Registration/Abstract Form, Page 3—Abstract Submission Information, Page 4—Driving Directions. 

Carolyn F. Weber                                         ASM Intermountain Branch Treasurer
Idaho State University                                 Office: (208) 282-2149
921 S. 8th Ave                                              Fax: (208) 282- 4570
Mail Stop 8007                                   
Pocatello, ID 83209

American Society for Microbiology Intermountain Branch 2013 Officers
President: Tim Magnuson, ISU.  Secretary: David Reed, INL. Treasurer: Carolyn Weber, ISU. President Elect: Karen Kesterson, Dugway. Branch Councilor: Matthew Domek, WSU.

Dr. Gary M. King is the A.C. Pereboom Distinguished Professor of Biology at Louisiana State University. His research in the fields of microbial ecology and biogeochemistry focuses on the distribution and activities of microbes that impact the transformation of trace gases (i.e. methane, carbon monoxide, hydrogen, nitric oxide and nitrous oxide), which significantly affect atmospheric chemistry and radiative forcing.  Research efforts in ecosystems ranging from aquatic environments to recent terrestrial volcanic deposits examine the physiological and molecular ecology of such microbes in the context of plant-microbe and animal-microbe interactions.  His work has made significant contributions to our knowledge of the diversity and physiology of microbes that control trace gas budgets on local, regional and global scales. 
Dr. King is an internationally respected researcher and educator, having authored or co-authored more than 135 scientific publications and the textbook Bacterial Biogeochemistry: The Ecophysiology of Mineral Cycling. He is a member of the American Academy of Microbiology, was a Fulbright Scholar in Denmark and has held several guest lectureships and visiting professorships.  Prior to assuming his position at Louisiana State University in 2007, he was the C.S. Darling Distinguished Professor of Oceanography at the University of Maine where he earned many honors at the University and State levels; these honors included the Outstanding Research Award, Presidential Research and Creative Achievement Award, Graduate Teaching and Research Award and the Distinguished Service Award from the Natural Resources Council of Maine. 
                As a long-time member of the American Society for Microbiology, Dr. King has chaired several committees in Environmental Microbiology for the Public and Scientific Affairs Board.  He has served or is currently serving on numerous editorial boards including FEMS Microbiology Ecology, Frontiers in Microbiology, Applied and Environmental Microbiology and Aquatic Microbial Ecology.  He has been a member of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Science Advisory Board, the advisory committee for the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation and has led efforts to integrate microbial biology into the National Ecological Observatory Network, (NEON) Inc. framework, which aims to understand and predict consequences of climate change, invasive species and land-use changes at multiple scales.
Dr. King holds a B.S. in Zoology and a Ph.D. in Microbiology from the University of Georgia.

No comments:

Post a Comment