Tuesday, April 10, 2012

2012 Branch Meeting Highlights

Intermountain Branch Meeting 2012

Thanks to all participants from around our region who attended the meeting in Pocatello on April 7, 2012.  We had approximately 140 attendees, who made 18 oral presentations or presented one of the 35 posters. 

Congratulations to the student award winners: Desiree DeMille, BYU, best biomedical oral presentation, Patrick Gygli, ISU, best agricultural/environmental oral presentation, and Michael Barrus, BYU, and Eric Sefing, USU, best posters.  Each student received a check for $200 from the branch and ASM.  The branch also awarded complimentary ASM student memberships to members of the ISU Microbiology Club who volunteered to assist with registration and as session chairs.  Thank you!

We thank Dr. Larry Wackett for traveling from the Univ. of Minnesota to present the branch lecture and spend the day with participants.

In the branch business meeting, current president Dr. Frank Roberto, INL, conducted the election of the 2013 officers slate, including Dr. Linda DeVeaux, ISU, president, Dr. Karen Kesterson, Dugway Proving Grounds, president-elect, Dr. Carolyn Weber, ISU, treasurer, and Dr. David Reed, INL, secretary.  New officers assume their duties beginning in June of 2012.  Dr. Matt Domek, WSU and Dr. Kesterson retain their roles as branch councilors in 2013. 

Next year’s branch meeting will once again be held at Idaho State University, with ISU as the official host, and Dugway Proving Grounds will host the 2014 meeting.  Check this blog for information on the dates for these meetings in 2013.

The full program, including abstracts of oral presentations and posters will be posted here later this week.

No comments:

Post a Comment